� � � � �
�

Navigate
Index
Archives
Profile

Contact
eMail
Guestbook
Notes

Credits
Host
Design
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

�
�

2003-12-29 10:53 a.m.
On Being a Thoroughly Spoiled Brat

So, now comes the mood where I feel the need to update every day, even if only to show off how thoroughly spoiled I am by telling everyone what I got for Christmas.

As I wrote in my last entry, my parents were extremely generous with their gift buying this year; presents from them included a metal easel, a georgeous acrylic paint set with brushes, a palette, and canvas; a set of marble bookends carved into foot tall noses; a gods and goddesses calendar that, of course, included Sarasvati herself on it, a book about Kabbalah called The 72 Names of God; The World of the Dark Crystal, which includes the concept art for the movie and also the history of each of the races and the names and tribal duties of each member of the Skeksis and the Mystics...it's a stunningly beautiful book; a mug sculpted in the shape of a Sphinx (my Steve received the second one in the set); a new Elfquest graphic novel (from my dad- I've gotten one from him each Christmas since he gave me Fire and Flight when I was about seven or eight years old); The Highly Selective Thesaurus For the Extraordinarily Literate, which brought from me a squeal of delight upon opening it; a copper plant tray; and a bronze statue of the god Pan, which I have been coveting for years and never thought I would actually possess. I nearly wept with delight.

From my sister, I received a calendar with funny black and white photos of pugs doing amusing things, with titles to match (pug in a boat= Pugboat) and a set of six tealight holders in the shape of tiny bird's nests (another thing I've coveted for quite a while). From Tom, my sister's boyfriend, I received an enormous cactus farm with about twelve different kinds of cacti in it. From my brother Zane, I received two lovely journals bound in leather to resemble old books. From my brother Sam, I received a set of Jack and Sally wind up toys. Totally cool.

A few of us exchanged gifts at work; I received a candle from April, a pretty brecelet from Rebecca, a lip gloss set and a small Eeyore charm from Jamie, and from Phil, a Harry Potter calendar (that makes three calendars total; now I'll never forget what day it is again) and this awesome, awesome black umbrella with Jack Skellington heads all over it. Dammit, now I want it to rain!

My friends and I exchanged gifts the Saturday before Christmas. From Becky I received a black (of course!) sweater with bell sleeves that ties on the side. Ain't nothin' better than a black sweater. From Cassey I received a dinosaur sticker book (yes!), a glow in the dark Build Your Own Stegosaurus (yes!!), King Ink and King Ink II, which are both books of lyrics and drawings and poems and plays by Nick Cave, and the Chronicles of Narnia boxed set (which I also got her...I love when that happens).

If you don't think I'm the most spoiled brat in the world yet, just wait. From my Beloved, I received: Highlander Season Three on DVD, Absolutely Fabulous Seasons 1-3 on DVD, a sterling silver stegosaurus charm on a beautiful sparkly silver chain, The Death and Life of Sylvia Plath, Lyra's Oxford (already finished reading it...fantastic!), two signed and numbered Elfquest prints (True Peace and The Rescue of Redlance), a set of fourteen smaller Elfquest character prints, the Heirloom collector's Eeyore (his arms and legs are hinged and he's so, so soft!), a georgeous red robe from Victoria's Secret which is terry cloth on the inside and a kind of velour on the outside, a paper lantern shaped like a star that gives off a red glow when lit, a nice tripod for my camera (YES!!!!!!!!), AND the triple strand pearl necklace I've loved and wanted for years. Again, I nearly wept with joy.

Oh, and I forgot about Bianca, my adorable, beautiful white baby rat! Steve gave her to me on Christmas Eve Eve because he didn't want her to have to spend the night in the utility closet in her cage. She's so sweet; she's a friendly rat. I love her.

<< / >>

�
�

Extras
About Me
Rings
Photographs
Goddess
Cast
Reviews
Links
Wishlist
(Yes, I know, I'm very greedy.)

Last 5
- - 2004-01-09
On Being a Thoroughly Spoiled Brat - 2003-12-29
Thankful Me - 2003-12-28
Blah... - 2003-12-15
I should just go back to bed... - 2003-12-05

Favorite Reads...
crazedweazel
drastane
giallothang
floodtide
seastreet
plumwine
spanklin
up-yours
maskedmofo
everoboto
kaykay99
meeyapede
enfant-mort
pushpull
redniko
emiline220
tou-mou
sianni
toshchaya
raresilk
swordsman7th
etc
idiot-milk
holdensolo
ihmx100
filmstarrevu
tanisanne
i-girl
roklobster
grngrl75
icefacade
bttrflychic