� � � � �
�

Navigate
Index
Archives
Profile

Contact
eMail
Guestbook
Notes

Credits
Host
Design
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

�
�

2003-12-28 11:08 p.m.
Thankful Me

The peaceful, quiet, enter my hermitage time of the year is finally here. Christmas is over, New Year's will soon follow, and then it's time to get down to business. As soon as my boss gets back from vacation (and as soon as I've caught up on the couple of bills I skipped this month to go Christmas shopping- don't worry, it was just one car payment, one cable bill, and one phone bill, totaling $375 for all three, no problem...) I am letting him know that I will be going down to four days a week in that most wretched of all places. Then it's write write write, paint paint paint, photograph photograph photograph photograph all the winter long. Hopefully, sometime soon, I will be able to purchase a scanner for this horrid piece of crap computer (which I have dubbed FUCKUP II) and then everybody will be able to see just what it is I do. Speaking of photos, I still have not heard any news from the Renaissance Faire people, to whom I submitted a few photos back in November for their annual photo contest. Fuckers.

Anyway, my Christmas was perhaps the most pleasant Christmas I've had in years. My Steve and I spent Christmas Eve alone, which is exactly the way we wanted to spend it. I was on his ass all day to open presents, but he made me wait until after it got dark, at which time I found myself just a wee bit tipsy from all the wine and had to take a half hour nap, since I didn't want to be opening presents drunk. There are many, many things I don't mind doing drunk, but opening Christmas gifts with my beloved isn't one of them. So we opened our presents and turned in early because I had to be to work at 6 am Christmas morning. I was only ten minutes late for work, and ten minutes after that I remembered the real reason I hate working on Christmas. I don't mind having to be there, it's just that people are so nasty. It's fucking Christmas, for Christ's (yes, Christ's!) sake. I had a woman arguing with me, saying she gave me a twenty when I know for sure it was a ten. Very nasty. We had a guy cursing and bitching that McDonald's wasn't open and people have to eat and blah blah blah. But on the other hand, there were quite a few people who were kind, and generous, and truly felt bad that some people have to work on Christmas. A few people even gave us tips or Lotto tickets, and the best ones were those who simply said, "Thank you for being here today; we appreciate you." I got off at noon, ran home to get Steve and the presents, and then we were off to my parents' house, which was as exciting and merry and jovial and hilarious a wild rumpus as it usually is. It was my turn to get picked on at the dinner table this year, but I tell you, I didn't mind a bit. Being surrounded by my loved ones, laughing with them like we always do, knowing that everyone is safe and happy, well...there is no greater gift. More than once that day, tears sprang into my eyes as I looked at each one of them and realized just how lucky I really am. I may not have always thought so, but nearly all of the good things about my life have come from them.

<< / >>

�
�

Extras
About Me
Rings
Photographs
Goddess
Cast
Reviews
Links
Wishlist
(Yes, I know, I'm very greedy.)

Last 5
- - 2004-01-09
On Being a Thoroughly Spoiled Brat - 2003-12-29
Thankful Me - 2003-12-28
Blah... - 2003-12-15
I should just go back to bed... - 2003-12-05

Favorite Reads...
crazedweazel
drastane
giallothang
floodtide
seastreet
plumwine
spanklin
up-yours
maskedmofo
everoboto
kaykay99
meeyapede
enfant-mort
pushpull
redniko
emiline220
tou-mou
sianni
toshchaya
raresilk
swordsman7th
etc
idiot-milk
holdensolo
ihmx100
filmstarrevu
tanisanne
i-girl
roklobster
grngrl75
icefacade
bttrflychic