� � � � �
�

Navigate
Index
Archives
Profile

Contact
eMail
Guestbook
Notes

Credits
Host
Design
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

�
�

2003-09-19 11:07 a.m.
A title for this piece escapes me at the moment

One of Becky's childhood friends was found murdered in the Nevada desert two days ago.

Sometimes I wonder how my mother ever found the courage to let me set foot outside the house. I wonder how I, when I someday have them, will ever find the courage to allow my own sons and daughters to live freely, to let them out into such a world as this, knowing that it just might mean their death.

I know the answer, of course. Life itself, and the living of it, is worth that risk. It's just, sometimes I am hard-pressed to remember that.

Sometimes, I become disheartened. But that, as all things must, will pass. I am a person who does not believe in a god. I have, instead, chosen to place my faith in something far more fragile, yet something far more powerful, and far less comfortable (and comforting), at times, to believe in. And that is humankind itself. Because "god's work isn't done by god, it's done by people." No god is going to make my life (or yours) worse, or better, or easier to live. Nor will any god make this world a better place. I will. You will. Many people will. Many people do. And that is the answer to the "Why?" we've all been asking, over and over like the ever curious child, since we've been old enough to recognize this world for what it is.

People don't always get it right. I may not, either. But I will, without the shadow of a doubt, die trying.

<< / >>

�
�

Extras
About Me
Rings
Photographs
Goddess
Cast
Reviews
Links
Wishlist
(Yes, I know, I'm very greedy.)

Last 5
- - 2004-01-09
On Being a Thoroughly Spoiled Brat - 2003-12-29
Thankful Me - 2003-12-28
Blah... - 2003-12-15
I should just go back to bed... - 2003-12-05

Favorite Reads...
crazedweazel
drastane
giallothang
floodtide
seastreet
plumwine
spanklin
up-yours
maskedmofo
everoboto
kaykay99
meeyapede
enfant-mort
pushpull
redniko
emiline220
tou-mou
sianni
toshchaya
raresilk
swordsman7th
etc
idiot-milk
holdensolo
ihmx100
filmstarrevu
tanisanne
i-girl
roklobster
grngrl75
icefacade
bttrflychic