� � � � �
�

Navigate
Index
Archives
Profile

Contact
eMail
Guestbook
Notes

Credits
Host
Design
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

�
�

2003-11-14 12:06 p.m.
Blackout and Boots

Well, a giant tree branch didn't get blown onto my car yesterday as I'd hoped, so I did have to go to work. But something almost as good happened while I was there. We lost electricity. Now, this does not automatically mean my coworkers and I can immediately return home. Nope, my boss (who abandons us every time this happens within ten minutes of the lights going out and is an insensitive prick who cares nothing for the people that run his business...do I sound bitter?) requires us to man our posts while he makes highly impatient inquiries to the electric company from the comfort of his own home. So we sat in the dark, and after about two hours, the bitterly cold, from 5:30 until about 9:30, until it dawned on the bossman (after several complaint filled phone calls dialed with fingers that could no longer be felt) that one of his employees did, in fact, have keys to the damn place and sent said employee over to free us from our servitude and send us home. At which time there would have been only an hour left of the shift anyway, but, hey, I'm not complaining. That's an hour to be home, eat, sit in front of the computer, and generally just ass around, that I didn't have before.

I need new boots. When one finds oneself crazy-gluing the soles of one's ancient and beloved black boots together so they are no longer able to have conversations with each other, it's time for new boots. Winter is upon us (not that I don't wear boots all year round, because I do, because I love boots, because I can remember my first love affair with boots, oh, how I miss you, my black size six and a half eight eye Docs; will we ever meet again?) and sneakers just ain't gonna cut it in the raging blizzards of upstate New York. I love the feeling of tightly laced boots on my feet and around my ankles. It just feels so right.

So I checked out some boots when my Steve and I were shopping on Wednesday. And became immediately disheartened. I want boots with laces, dammit! Not zippers. Unless they have laces and zippers. And a semi-chunky sole. Ok, what I really want are these (my dad bought my mom a pair of these for Christmas about five years ago and I've been varying shades of green with envy ever since; I, and my feet, weep with unfulfilled desire whenever she wears them in our presence). But I don't have that kind of money right now, so I've been searching for a pair of interim boots. Fruitlessly. Maybe I should just buy some more crazy glue and stick it out with the Old Grey Mares until I can afford to buy the Mercedes Benz of the boot world.

<< / >>

�
�

Extras
About Me
Rings
Photographs
Goddess
Cast
Reviews
Links
Wishlist
(Yes, I know, I'm very greedy.)

Last 5
- - 2004-01-09
On Being a Thoroughly Spoiled Brat - 2003-12-29
Thankful Me - 2003-12-28
Blah... - 2003-12-15
I should just go back to bed... - 2003-12-05

Favorite Reads...
crazedweazel
drastane
giallothang
floodtide
seastreet
plumwine
spanklin
up-yours
maskedmofo
everoboto
kaykay99
meeyapede
enfant-mort
pushpull
redniko
emiline220
tou-mou
sianni
toshchaya
raresilk
swordsman7th
etc
idiot-milk
holdensolo
ihmx100
filmstarrevu
tanisanne
i-girl
roklobster
grngrl75
icefacade
bttrflychic