� � � � �
�

Navigate
Index
Archives
Profile

Contact
eMail
Guestbook
Notes

Credits
Host
Design
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

�
�

2003-03-10 10:31 a.m.
Deadline anxiety

Proof of how busy I've been lately (or how my brain is experiencing burnout):

Deadline for my articles is tomorrow. Now, did I have the date wrong (thinking they were due the 10th)? Or am I simply incapable of the math necessary to figure out dates (that's what calendars are for, asshole)? Anyway, I'm glad, because I still, yes, still have not been able to get in touch with the second interviewee. Went to his job. Took photos. Agreed to call him later that evening to do the interview over the phone. Consistent with everything else going on in my life in recent days, he was, of course, not at home when I called. There's a recurring theme going on here; it sneaks by me when I'm not paying attention, and then drops the bomb right when I'm in the midst of something big. Then again, I do have to wonder how much of these sort of things are my fault. At least the first interviewee was pleasantly accommodating. And if he hadn't called the office so he could add a few more things he would like mentioned in the article, in turn forcing my editor to call me so I could get in touch with him, I wouldn't have realized the deadline was tomorrow. Lovely man. Interviewing him was probably the most pleasant experience of my journalistic career. Just when I was beginning to believe there were barely any decent, kind fellows who do justice to evolution left in the world, along comes this opportunity to catch a glimpse into the life of an average Joe, who, it turns out, is anything but average. I mean, we've all heard his story before. Went to a small town high school, played sports, went to college, earned his degree, joined the military, married a Japanese girl while he was stationed in Okinawa, came home, and has worked the same job practically his whole life. This man was a true gentleman, though. And he had passion. Passion for life, and his job. Not so worn out and defeated by life, like most folks appear to be. When he was telling me about how his local softball team won the nationals in 1985, there was every ounce of pride and excitement in his eyes as there must have been when it happened. I was just amazed by this man's manners, and his optimism. I honestly thought this was going to be another boring, laughable assignment (which happens quite often working for a small town newspaper). Once again, the joke was on me. But this time I don't mind so much. Lesson learned.

<< / >>

�
�

Extras
About Me
Rings
Photographs
Goddess
Cast
Reviews
Links
Wishlist
(Yes, I know, I'm very greedy.)

Last 5
- - 2004-01-09
On Being a Thoroughly Spoiled Brat - 2003-12-29
Thankful Me - 2003-12-28
Blah... - 2003-12-15
I should just go back to bed... - 2003-12-05

Favorite Reads...
crazedweazel
drastane
giallothang
floodtide
seastreet
plumwine
spanklin
up-yours
maskedmofo
everoboto
kaykay99
meeyapede
enfant-mort
pushpull
redniko
emiline220
tou-mou
sianni
toshchaya
raresilk
swordsman7th
etc
idiot-milk
holdensolo
ihmx100
filmstarrevu
tanisanne
i-girl
roklobster
grngrl75
icefacade
bttrflychic